LUFTHANSA and AUSTRIAN Score Impressive Skytrax Awards

LUFTHANSA and AUSTRIAN Score Impressive Skytrax Awards

In a ceremony that took place earlier this week as part of the Paris Air Show at Le Bourget, Lufthansa Group came away with 5 Skytrax awards for a variety of categories.


Austrian took home 2 awards:

Best Business Class On Board Catering …… thanks to their popular ‘Do&Co’ catering along with on board chefs and a dedicated Viennese Coffee service on long haul flights.

‘Best Airline Staff in Europe’ ……thanks in large part to OS’ flight crews and ground agents.


Lufthansa took home 3 awards:

‘Best Transatlantic Airline’ …… due primarily to the near-complete rollout of the new business class and the introduction of Premium Economy along with several US routes being served by new 747-8i an A380 aircraft along with wide availability of inflight WiFi through FlyNet.

‘World’s Best First Class Lounge’ …… no surprise here, it’s impossible to beat Frankfurt’s First Class Terminal.

‘Best Airline In Western Europe’ ……. new aircraft along with enhanced inflight entertainment systems made it easy to capture this category.


The results were tabulated after receiving votes from over 18 million passengers in 160 countries.   200 Airlines were eligible for voting in various categories in their home markets and the markets they serve.

LUFTHANSA Group Sweeps The Podium

LUFTHANSA Group Sweeps The Podium


Last week, the Business Traveller Awards were announced in Germany for a variety of travel related categories.   Among them, SWISS, Lufthansa and Austrian took 1st, 2nd & 3rd respectively in the category that awarded best ‘Business Airline for Business Travellers in Germany and Europe’.   The win for SWISS was its 2nd consecutive for the category.

SWISS was also recognized by readers for ‘Best Airline For International Business Travellers‘ and was awarded a respectable 3rd place for the category.

Additionally, Lufthansa took home 1st place for “Best Website For Business Travellers“.

The Business Traveller Awards are awarded on an annual basis and are determined by reader balloting.